Posted by: King Bee | July 27, 2007

No pressure over cappuccino.

Busy, bizzey, bizzee.
Bee.
Work has never been just that.
Suddenly it seems to be all I have time for.
Some mornings I don’t get coffee.
People pulling me in every direction.
Questions from the left and right.
Since when do I have all the answers?

So much pressure.
Perform, perform, perform.
Personal life needs TLC.
Need to catch up with friends.
Need to catch up with family.
Need to catch up with me.

Can’t complain.
Hard work breeds fulfillment.
Definitely feeling full and filled.
My Paddy knows hard work.
I already hold her in high regard.
Now she is being interviewed for Doctors Without Borders.
If anyone can save the world, it is her.
No pressure.

Mia Michaels electrifies my insides.
She is light.
I want to be friends with her.
Pasha is my new favorite.
Lacey melted my TV.
Kat is the best host on TV.
No other show moves me so consistently.
So you think you can dance.

Nigel is having to apologize for an anti-war dance.
A dance where the dancers wore shirts with peace signs.
Anti-war means against war.
It means peace.
Suddenly the spin is that anti-war is unpatriotic.
And now that GW has declared his executive order,
an innocuous show about dancing has to say sorry.
Or perhaps their bank accounts will be seized.
Or perhaps imprisoned for speaking out.
Because we are living under a dictatorship.

I am the last person to get political.
For me to do so, things have gotten hairy.
And that terrifies me.
I don’t want to think that I am working so hard
to live in an un-free, un-peaceful, un-cared for country.
I need Paddy to hurry up and save the world.
No pressure.

Responses

  1. SYTYCD is the best show on tv, but Mia??? Not a big fan. Lurve Wade’s chorograpy. Cat needs to host every program on tv. And bring Ant & Dec over with her.
    Pasha & Sara are my faves.

  2. Paddy- hurry up and save the world!

    If you need any help, I’m available.

  3. No pressure, no pressure at all, but will someone please save the world?

    Very nice poem, Bob.

  4. I’ve been wanting to comment all week but it has been rush rush rush! Just know that you (and the world) have been in my prayers. I remember when I was a wee little girl there was so much talk about nuclear war. I remember having insomnia because I was terrified by the thought of everyone disappearing in a flash or getting horribly mutated by the after-effects. That was such a lame thing to talk about but I just wanted you to know that I understand fear about the people who run the world. I just hope you are not up late at night over it. I don’t wish that on anyone. It is much better to live with hope than without it. Have faith in humanity Bob. It is the only way to make it. And cappucino is a great way to start 😉

    ps. Doc w/o borders rocks! my hubby is thinking about that organization at some point too. (has to get through residency first tho)


Leave a Reply

Categories