Posted by: King Bee | December 28, 2008

Thanks for making me better…

[clearspring_widget title=”Animoto.com” wid=”46928cc51133af17″ pid=”495738c42106aa6c” width=”432″ height=”260″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

I’m late on my Christmas wishes and early on my new year reflections, so I will simply say, with heartfelt love, happy holidays!

It’s hard to imagine another year has come and gone. Aren’t we supposed to be living like The Jetsons by now? Does your mind have moments that seem so crisp and clear as though they were yesterday only to realize how many years ago they were, and how acutely aware you become of just how much time has passed? And if you’re like me, do you become exhausted thinking about everything you’ve done?

I may get tired, but I never lose appreciation. This year I lost my friend Felicia and I didn’t even know it. She was a woman I worked with for two years at Baskin-Robbins when I was 16. She was such a pillar of strength for me as I struggled through my relationship with my Mom, explored my greatest love with a woman, and grappled with my identity to come out. She was a friend and mentor, who without effort, made a profound impact on the man I have become today. It’s been years since I had seen her and I am ashamed to say I took for granted that she would always be there, wherever “there” was.

She passed away a few months ago of cancer and I have been battling with myself over not having kept in better touch, or more importantly, ever telling her just how much she helped me in some of my darkest days. She was a humble and modest woman, whom I am certain had no idea the effect she had on me, nor the many others like me, who scooped their way through those formative years of questioning and self-discovery.

I’m not sharing this for empathy or sadness. I am sharing it to remind you, as well as myself, that we have a short time on our journeys. That every person who crosses our path, whether it be a smile from your waitress, to that jerk on their cell phone who cuts you off on the freeway, to the friend who rushes over in their pajamas in the middle of the night to help nurse your broken heart, or even your partner who pisses you off by pushing all of your buttons and smiles in just a way to make you forget it all. Good and bad, these people shape us and make us who we are. They teach us how to trust, to love, to make love, to feel love. They make us laugh, they make us cry, they make us blush, they make us feel. They teach us what feels good and what feels wrong.

There is no time like the holidays, to take that extra moment and share with those investing their time to make your life a little easier, a little better and possibly even good, and let them know the impact they have on you. Be sure and smile at that person behind you in line at Starbucks as well as the person taking your order and the one who whipped it up. Practice kindness. Don’t be so afraid to hug your friends when you see them or even kiss them on the cheek. You don’t know if you’ll ever be able to do it again, so celebrate with affection every time you greet and depart. And don’t be afraid to say I love you. It feels a lot better to tell the person while they can hear you than saying it over and over in your head hoping they can hear you once they are gone.

Above are just a few of the snapshots that made up my 2008. Beautiful smiles. Beautiful people. Beautiful memories. All people who have shaped my world and continue to do so. I feel honored that so many of you joined me on my journey so long ago and are still here celebrating with me all these years later. Our laugh lines are a little longer, but I’ll take them, because it means we are having fun. I say it every year, and I have never meant it more than I do right now. Without every single one of you reading this, I am nothing.

I am sending you blessings of hope, of love and abundance as we soldier into the new year and continue to change, for the better.

xoxo

Mister B

Responses

  1. Blessings to you, too – and thank you for sharing yourself with us.
    Hope your new year is filled with love, friendship, joy and gratitude.
    Love you –

  2. Hugs and Thanks to you Mister B. I for one want to let you know how much your friendship has meant to me. You have made me laugh, cry, and complete a dream. I have learned that it takes all kinds of people to make up this works but that it’s the kindness of people that make it turn. You are one very special person and don’t you EVER forget that.

  3. Gorgeous words. Gorgeous images. Glamorous life.


Leave a Reply

Categories