Posted by: King Bee | January 31, 2009

25 Things meme (the latest Facebook craze)

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

1. In high school, I used to tell people that I was going to grow up and write the cover interviews for Rolling Stone magazine and Debbie Gibson would be one of my interviews. I don’t write for Rolling Stone, but I have interviewed her and am currently running her website.

2. I believe the universe will guide us if we just stop and listen.

3. When I was 12 I was busted at Safeway for shoplifting a can of Aqua Net and a bag of Doritos. The fine and the humiliation cost $150. For about $4 I would’ve had nice hair and a happy stomach.

4. I was single for 13 years between my last girlfriend and first boyfriend.

5. My grandmother took me to Kmart when I was seven years old and bought me my first vinyl album. I was torn between Diana Ross, Diana and Dolly Parton, 9 to 5 and Odd Jobs. Dolly won out and I still own it to this day. (If I were to ever meet Dolly and have her sign anything, it would be that)

6. I haven’t spoken to my mother in 14 years.

7. I don’t know what happened before and I don’t know what happens after, but I know with every fiber of my being that we need to make the most of our time on earth.

8. If I were rich, I would have a fabulous house for hosting and would cook meals for my friends on a regular basis.

9. When I was young I was obsessed with horses and the number eight and it was not lost on me that the word horses started with the letter h and is the eighth letter of the alphabet.

10. I spent an entire year of my life sobbing and crying uncontrollably between the ages of 8 and 9.

11. I grew up shy, quiet and alone. I didn’t begin to come out of my shell and socialize until I turned 15.

12. I spent the ages of 16 to 32 disgusted with how fat I was only to look back on all of those years wishing I was as thin as I was then.

13. Billy Baldwin is the reason I came out. I was completely infatuated with him in 1993 and thought that the electric surge that went through my body every time I saw him was because I wanted to BE him. The entire summer of ’93 I alternated between seeing Three of Hearts and Sliver in the theater night after night. I died my hair dark brown, joined the gym (because the sight of him on all fours working out in Sliver completely electrified me, assuring me that BEING him was what I was interested in) and even stole a 4 foot by 10 foot vinyl poster from the lobby of the theater only to have a kind lesbian named Karen Hughes get me to admit that I didn’t want to BE him, I wanted to be WITH him.

14. Navigation Technologies (now known simply as NavTeq) completely changed my life.

15. I rarely cry when things are sad, but get chills and sob when things are inspiring.

16. I can eat an entire box of Wheat Thins with a container of cream cheese in one sitting.

17. I want to be friends with Alanis Morissette and Natalie Maines.

18. Big named celebrities (i.e. Harrison Ford, George Clooney) cause little reaction to me when I am in their presence, however reality stars and teenage idols make me tongue tied and giddy.

19. If I could pick one celebrity to have dinner with, it would be Bette Midler.

20. I think 25 is an excessive number.

20a. I believe we are all very sure of ourselves when we are 20 to 22 only to have our worlds flipped upside down at 27 and stabilized when we hit 30. (answer number 20 was a cop out)

21. I always thought that if I were to have a child, it would have to be a girl because I wouldn’t know how to relate to a boy. When I was 28, it became so clear to me that if I were to raise a child, I would want to raise a boy. To experience with them what I never had as well as take a pride in raising a confident, educated, kind, assured man.

22. I believe Kinsey was on to something. I think we are all much more in the middle with our sexuality and our politics. It is the voices of society and those who are most scared who have yelled the loudest and forced us to choose sides and polarize. I believe if we were all allowed to think for ourselves, we would all live happier and more harmonious lives. I also believe this concept “free thinking” is what formed our great country.

23. I hate when people hate and spew their anger and hide behind their computers and tipe end spel itt ol raung.

24. I believe prophets are people who can speak to the masses, inspire people, make people question, make people think, wake people up, give people comfort, transform a culture. I believe Jesus was a prophet for his time, I believe Lincoln was a prophet for his time, I believe John Lennon was a prophet for his time, I believe Martin Luther King was a prophet for his time and I believe Madonna has been a prophet for me.

25. I truly believe you get what you give, you can do anything if you put your mind to it and that anything is possible.

Responses

  1. totally agree with u bob!

  2. Oh my God!! I totally remember the Billy Baldwin phase.

    I also remember meeting you around the time of number 11….one of the best years of my life!


Leave a Reply

Categories