Posted by: King Bee | May 18, 2009

Goals and divine intention.

There appears to be a domino effect happening. While I don’t wish anyone going through this to have to suffer one more moment of anguish, I will say I am finding strength in numbers. It is that much more empowering and hopeful that they, in addition to myself, are able to find inner and outer peace as we all rise from the ashes of our soon to be former selves. Sizzle and Snackie have also put fingers to keyboard and bravely poured their guts out (I highly encourage clicking on their links and reading their “moment” and maybe leave them a kind word). Let it be a reminder to us all, no one is going through this alone and I hope we can all be here for each other.

Today, I want to share my goals. For the last few years, I have spent the month of December Hell bent on sitting down and writing my New Year’s resolutions. Usually by February 1st, I have given up on the notion that it is going to happen and hope that it finally happens “next year”. I am fairly certain there is only one reason I haven’t done it: I don’t want to fail and writing it down and not finishing means fail. Annually, I may have the best intentions, but when I don’t follow through, I feel worse than if I had just kept my mouth shut. Wouldn’t you know it? I haven’t let myself down  because I also haven’t had any goals. I also haven’t done anything for quite awhile because I’ve given myself no direction.

Today, that changes. I have been taking notes for the last few days. I want this weight loss to mean something to me and the only way to do that is to define what that means. This is the first time I have ever gone on a diet while in a relationship. Every time I tried in the past it was so I could find a relationship. Which means this go ’round really is, for me and I want to make it count.

So here it goes, for all the world to see, in no particular order. To support me if I fail, to support me if I succeed. To keep me on track and my eye on the prize.

  1. I want to be able to take my shirt off in public.
  2. I want to have a 36″inseam.
  3. To post one blog entry a day, taking the weekends off, just like my friend and blogging inspiration, Sizzle.
  4. To wear a sexy Halloween costume (either revealing skin or something skin tight, but something sexy instead of large and cartoonish).
  5. Fit comfortably on a roller coaster.
  6. Turn The Baub Show into a successful weekly radio show.
  7. To be able to ride horses again.
  8. To fit comfortably into my own airplane seat and not having to clench my legs the whole flight to avoid spilling into my neighbor.
  9. One night of stand-up or a one man show.
  10. Write a book that is published and sits on a shelf in every Barnes and Noble across the country.
  11. Become friends with Alanis Morissette.
  12. To have the legal right to marry in California.
  13. Meet Natalie Maines.
  14. To be able to buy clothes in any department store and not be limited to the Big and Tall section of Kmart.
  15. Look good for my sister’s wedding.
  16. To audition for the next Sweatin’ to the Oldies.
  17. To be able to do push-ups without the aid of my knees.

This is my beginning. I will continue to add more as they come to me. It would mean a lot to me if you took a moment and left a comment below and shared with me one (or as many as you’d like) of your goals. As I update this, we can all come back to it together and see how we are all doing. And your goal can be anything. It doesn’t have to be weight related, it just has to be a dream that is honest and personal to you. With a collective conscience, we can accomplish all of this and so much more! It all starts with a dream and divine intention.

Let your intentions be good – embodied in good thoughts, cheerful words, and unselfish deeds – and the world will be to you a bright and happy place in which to work and play and serve

Grenville Kleiser (American author 1868-1953)

Responses

  1. wow! again thanks for your honesty. I don’t know if I have the guts to fully admit in front of others what I really want. Lest I fail or look crazy. which is pretty crazy in and of itself since most people probably already think I’m nuts.
    for this year:
    1) lose 30 lbs and continue to make healthier choices with food.
    2) have a regular excercise practice.
    3) be able to have at least 1 day off (meaning NO work) per week
    4) to expand my business into another office with at least 2 associates
    5) move closer to living on my own (that will be on next years list)
    6) to get my shit together and finally write down all these wacky adventures into a blog
    7) to have a bad-ass wardrobe again (I’ve been dressing for camoflauge not fashion for 1/2 a decade)
    8) to keep my bedroom and car orderly (things get pretty out of control sometimes)

  2. I admire your honesty Bob, as for my goals here are a few:
    1. Call my great aunt more than I do.
    2.Be more tolerant of other people.
    3.Not threaten kids when they mess with my service dog.
    4.Take more ‘me’ time.
    5.Be less lazy and quit putting things off
    6.Get my weight under control which means losing at least 40lbs
    7.Meeting NKOTB this summer and telling Jon how much I admire his strength for doing what he does with the panic attacks he has. Because I have them as well.
    8. Believe in myself more.
    9. Stop avoiding confrontation because I hate it.
    10. Realize that what my mother in law did to me was wrong and she had no right to say the things she said.

    there’s a few i’m sure i’ll think of more later…I love your blogs! 🙂

  3. My goal is to hit lotto.

  4. Of course last night I journaled (in my old fashioned paper journal) this exact thing. We’re on the same page, almost literally. I think I’ll make mine a blog post this week. One I’ll say here is:

    To wear a tank top in public.

  5. All it takes is one person to inspire us. Thank you for having the courage to be that person. Here are mine…

    1. FINALLY finish school on MY TERMS. This means getting my degree in a subject I like no matter how strange people think it is and whether it will make me more “marketable.”

    2. Pay off all my credit cards and see what its like to live debt free (with the exception of my mortgage, which I can live with).

    3. Learn how to invest money.

    4. Save/invest enough money to be able to retire early AND still be able to travel.

    5. Stop talking about wanting to see all the ballparks of America and DO IT!

    6. Buy a condo in Hawaii.

    7. Learn a language that is actually useful, like Spanish or Chinese.

    8. Visit: Italy, Greece, Ireland, Russia, Egypt, Vancouver Island, Cabo, the ancient Aztec and Mayan ruins in South America.

    9. Make more time to socialize.

    10. Find that special someone who can compliment my life but not take it over.

    11. Train my pup to be a therapy dog and take her to hospitals to visit with the sick people.

  6. Again, you are inspiring me! Get out of my head! Also, thanks for the shout out…it’s nice to hear that people are listening when I pour out my heart and soul.

    My goals (some of them):

    1.) To swim in public (friends’ houses, the beach)
    2.) To stop tugging at my shirt every time I move.
    3.) To look in the mirror and know that my shit is glam all the way!

  7. I want #6 to happen for you. Okay, for me really. I think I still have a few of the original tapes.

    My Goals are:
    1. Fit comfortably in airplane seat.
    2. Wear pants that are boot cut because they’re fashionable, not because they balance out my hips.
    3. Excersise regularly.
    4. Stop eating so much junk
    5. Save money.
    6. Visit Bob sometime in 2009.

  8. Hi Bob.
    I love reading your entries. They are hopeful and inspiring. And I’m just so overwhelmingly happy for you. You’ve always been such an amazing person and friend with such spectacular energy – and I’m glad that you are seeing how wonderful you are and I’m proud of you for making changes to make yourself even happier.

    The last year has been crazy for me. I have had to make changes in my life that I never imagined possible. After Billy’s accident, I had to find patience and a non-stop stream of positive energy to keep my sanity. And ask just about anyone, patience is a virtue I never really knew before.

    Physically in 2008 I was the skinniest I’ve been in years (thanks to stress of spending a full month in a hospital waiting room) and the heaviest (thanks to trying to help Billy put weight back on after he came home…I forgot that I wasn’t the one in dire need to put on weight). This year both Billy and I have made a serious vow to make healthier eating choices. He survived a terrible accident (by the way this Friday is the one year anniversary of his accident!) and there is no reason to go on living an unhealthy life. We love food, we love wine – so sometimes it’s a struggle. We’ve also realized that we can’t be perfect (well not all the time haha) and to not beat ourselves up when we slip.

    I started doing P90X (yes the infomercial exercise program) about 6 weeks ago. It’s one of the hardest workouts I’ve ever done and I’ve actual stuck with it! I may not be skinnier but I am stronger and I feel so much better about my body and my entire self. Every morning after my workout, I feel like I’ve actually accomplished something. It’s really about the daily victories. Today I did more “Dreya Rolls” than ever before (ok i know you probably don’t know what on earth that means but those bitches are hard!)! YAY Me!

    Maintain a positive attitude. Take it day by day. Think of the small victories.

    Here are a few of my goals:
    1) Do 10 real push ups – not on my knees!
    2) Wear those little tiny cute American Apparel shorts in public (not just to sleep in).
    3) Maintain a healthy diet.
    4) and non-health related…. reconnect with friends. I’m a very happy homebody but being a homebody cuts out so many good people – so on that note…LET’S PLAY SOON! xoxo

    • I need to add that goal to my list as well… DO PUSH UPS NOT ON MY KNEES!!! I feel so weak when I do it that way and yet they are still soooooooo hard for me!!!

  9. Bob, If you don’t have Chris Gardner’s new book, “Start where you are…” check it out below. I haven’t read it yet (ordered) but was moved by an interview Gardner did on the news. He talks about why we should NOT have a “Plan B”, that we should focus on Plan A.

    Gardner says:
    “Plan B sucks. There is no plan B. When you’re doing something you’re truly passionate about, there is no plan B.”

    It’s my new thing… when I need a kick in the butt (mostly about writing my book). I just say out loud to myself “Get Going… there is NO PLAN B”.

    http://www.amazon.com/Start-Where-You-Are-Lessons/dp/006153711X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1242764082&sr=8-1

    xo

    • I just ordered it! Do I hear book club?? 🙂

      • Let’s do it! x

  10. Hi Bob – found you through Sizz and Hilly – two wonderful women that I adore. I can relate to your last several posts on so many levels. I wish you tons of success and you have inspired me to start my own goal list. I’ll definitely be coming back to see how you and everyone else is doing. A radio show would be a fabulous idea!

  11. I usually don’t make resolutions because, when I do and inevitably end up breaking them, I feel like I’ve let myself down, which starts a perpetual cycle of kicking myself when I’m down. My goal for this year is simple, though — just to survive the year. I’ve been having a bad time and have thought about suicide more than once. So I simply want to take things one day at a time, find my way through, and keep pushing on.

    Good luck with your goals!

  12. For your first “sexy Halloween costume”, I’m ready to make you Delores del Lago. We’ll rent motorized wheel-chairs, and take over the Boulevard.

  13. […] 2, 2009 In my attempt to succeed at one of my many goals (to post a minimum of 5 times a week), I was struggling with a few topics I’ve had on my mind […]


Leave a Reply

Categories