Posted by: King Bee | May 27, 2009

We all showed up last night.

Here are a few of the photos I took last night. We walked the Blvd and watched families speak as well as Georga Takei, Mayor Villaraigosa, Drew Barrymore and Kathy Griffin. There was no violence or tension in the air, just passion and a sense of community. How would you feel and react if you were told you don’t have equal rights because of who you choose to love?

One of my favorite signs at the rally.

One of my favorite signs at the rally.

My friend and advocate, Calpernia Addams

My friend and advocate, Calpernia Addams

My pal Deborah lends her support.

My pal Deborah lends her support.

I thought it was interesting the way my camera caught the light over the crowd. Id like to think of that as a hopeful sign of things to come.

I thought it was interesting the way my camera caught the light over the crowd. I'd like to think of that as a hopeful sign of things to come.

Ryan Schiavo, Brett and his girlfriend

Ryan Schiavo, Brett and his girlfriend

Haylie, Meredith and Deborah

Haylie, Meredith and Deborah

Ryan OConnor considered the event somber and didnt want to smile for the photo.

Ryan O'Connor considered the event somber and didn't want to smile for the photo.

but nothing stops me!

but nothing stops me!

Haylie Duff and Pauly

Haylie Duff and Pauly

My friend Brett. He chooses to love women and showed up to offer his support without hesitation.

My friend Brett. He chooses to love women and showed up to offer his support without hesitation.

Responses

  1. It was so great that SOOO many people came out to support! I so wish I would have been there to feel the love. The photos are great, thanks for sharing!

    These are only baby steps, but larger ones are to follows. We can only hope that later down the years, that we’ve made an impact in this world. Stonewall; this, and we WILL face more. But it WILL make us stronger & one day “our” voices will be heard!!!! I only hope I’m here to see it.

  2. I would have been there. If I lived in L.A.

    I love that light photo. It’s symbolic for sure.


Leave a Reply

Categories