Posted by: King Bee | May 28, 2009

I’m hungry!

How are you guys doing on your diets? I know a lot of you have written me to say you’ve felt inspired in the last few weeks to start something up yourselves. How is it going? Let us know in the comments below. I am definitely learning that as much as I didn’t want to talk about it, I find the days I don’t are the days I feel least motivated and most craving a cheat. That said, I have been REAAAAAAALLY hungry these last two days. I have no idea why. Nothing has changed (although I have been exercising a little more frequently). In the quest to stick something in my mouth besides carrots, I remembered an old Weight Watchers trick from back in the day and decided to give it a try. Click here for Weight Watchers Zero Points Garden Vegetable Soup, or you can try my own version that I have just made:

BAUB’S ZERO POINTS GARDEN VEGETABLE SOUP

2 small cans tomato sauce
1 can tomato paste
3 chicken bouillon cubes (low sodium)
small bag fresh carrots
4 brussel sprouts (I didn’t have cabbage on hand)
2 tbls minced garlic
generous on the cajun spices (these are pre-done spices and add flavor, not necessarily heat)
generous sprinkling of kosher salt
1 tbl Herbes de Provence
1 bag frozen Tuscany Vegetable medley
1/2 red onion

I sauteed the onion and garlic in one small splash of olive oil. Then added the tomato sauce, paste, bouillon cubes and about 8 cups of water (after all the broth is what really makes me feel sated) and the seasonings. Once that was going, I added the carrots (chopped or the baby) and chopped the brussel sprouts (for those in fear, you can’t taste them, but they do help to make the overall flavor- think anchovies in a Cesar salad- you don’t know they are in there, but you miss them when they aren’t). I let that all simmer about 45 minutes, then added the frozen vegetables and gave it another half an hour on low.

Since vegetables are an “all-you-can-eat” food on Jenny Craig, I’m excited to be trying something different besides steamed or raw. My mouth and stomach are very happy right now, as is my mind knowing I am eating something good for me!

What no-cheating tricks have you found to get you through your hunger pains and satisfied to your next meal??

Responses

  1. Roasting veggies in the oven with a little olive oil is great. Heartier vegetables work the best – broccoli, carrots, onions…

    Roast in the oven at 450 for 15-20 minutes. Delish!

  2. All I eat right now is veggies and protein. A handful of nuts or string cheese get me through snack time. The more days I don’t eat sugar, the less hungry I actually am. I have found that when I exercise I need to eat before because I run out of steam mid-workout.

    I actually don’t feel like cheating (yet). Though sugar free pudding cups don’t taste as good as sugar free pudding you make with milk on the stove.

  3. Drink lots of water. Sometimes that “hungry feeling” is actually you being dehydrated.

    Instead of carrots, what about buying a big bag of Snow Peas. Not only do they help curb your urge for something sweet but they’re an excellent source of fiber and will fill your belly with yummy goodness!! 🙂

  4. I am proud of you and what you are doing. I am one of your friends who is doing it with you. I have completely cut out all sugars, carbs, and coke a cola…my favorite, my vice. I did cheat over the holiday weekend, and to my surprise, I didn’t feel any better or satisfied. Sticking to a good diet of meat/veggies and fruit (which is a sugar I know, but allowing it) I am feeling a lot better. It is slow, but I am noticing a difference. Sleeping better, skin is a bit better, all around good times. I have not gone for a bike ride or a walk lately, but I do feel better 🙂

    Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Go us!

  5. The new momentum plan on weight watchers is suggesting foods that will stick with you longer to curb hunger. Proteins and fiber foods. The soup is a great idea Bob. Also a protein shake or fruit smoothie. Sometimes a cup of coffee in the middle of the afternoon helps me curb the munchies.

  6. The day of my first weigh-in was great until the next day when I was starving for two days straight, kinda like you. I’m doing Weight Watchers so I’ve learned to save up my flex points for the days when I am starved rather than spacing them out like I normally do.

    I’m loving Weight Watchers because I do it with my own sort of lower-carb flair. I don’t use my points for low calorie cookies and muffins….I only eat natural foods and more proteins and high fiber carbs.


Leave a Reply

Categories