Posted by: King Bee | June 11, 2009

Taking a Me moment

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged since Sunday! You’d never know it, but I have so much to say!

I’m finding myself full of gratitude these days. I’m so thankful for the love and support I get from my friends. People don’t realize it, but I grew up shy, awkward and fairly friendless. That all changed in my last few years of High School and I’ve never taken any of it for granted.

This week in particular, I’m feeling my friends showing up for me and it is a reminder of just how fortunate I am. Tuesday I premiered my brand new radio program, The Baub Show. Not only did I have great friends show up on the air with me, but many listened along and participated. On top of that, every person I’ve asked to be a part of it has said yes without hesitation.

Asking your friends for anything, especially to show up for you, is not always an easy thing. It leaves you exposed and vulnerable, which is why when they say, “yes”, your heart is already open and receives the love so much more fully.

I talked on the show about living life with more intention and asking the universe for what I want. This is a theme that has been popping up for me lately and I thought I was participating better in it. It wasn’t until my friend Jo reminded me that the universe is listening and I need to stay responsible with my words.

I could hear the vibration of that comment loudly in my ears when I found myself talking about my radio show with friends. I’ve shyly promoted it and brushed it off as a “hobby”. In my mind I had decided I’d wait for it to be a success before I took pride in it and properly promoted it. How backwards is that?

I also found myself doing this when I first drove myself to Jenny Craig. No one, not even my supportive better half, knew that I was going to do it. The internal pressure I had put on myself would’ve crushed me if I had failed not only myself, but my friends who’s support I rely on.

But since my first LH2.0 post, my friends have been nothing short of supportive and some even inspired. Not one has brought up my diet failures of the past or the wagons I’ve fallen off. Instead, they are right there in the wings cheering me on and filling my heart with warm light that’s helping to keep me on track.

I decided last weekend that my radio show and anything else I set out to do will also be shared confidently and pridefully with everyone I know and most especially with the universe. I will also walk more confidently in my body that has grown stronger with each workout these last few weeks.

I will show and feel more gratitude for my friends and my body and my life. I will continue my evolution and hold my head with pride. I will host my radio show and not think it silly, but a stepping stone to help Ryan Seacrest with some of his workload. I will imagine myself in a sexy photo shoot in a thinner, healthier body that show cases all of my angles and sides and not just my face. I will not take for granted or disconnect or sleep away anymore years of my life.

I am me and I am me with pride. I will walk this journey holding the many hands of my friends. I know that with their love and support, I have nothing to be shy and embarrassed about.

I hope if you’ve taken the time to read this, that you know I’m thankful for your time – even if we’ve never met. I also hope you’ll take a moment to journal, blog or even email yourself some things you are thankful for, some people you are thankful for and some goals you’ve prevented yourself from achieving because you’ve felt silly or embarrassed. Find the strength in your gratitude and the universe will help you get it done.

Sending you all loving thankful vibes from my cell phone.

xoxo Bob

sent through digital vibrations from my cell phone.

Responses

  1. That’s impressive that you typed all that via cell!

    I needed to read this. I was wallowing and feeling sorry for myself.

  2. I am uplifted. And I THANK YOU. x!

    : )

  3. Great words to start my day by. Thanks for being such a great inspiration and a good friend. Hugs.

  4. You are such an inspiration. The positive energy you send makes me smile every day. I am thankful to have you as a friend.

  5. Nicely put, Bob. Keep up the hard work.

  6. your words are so inspirational bob! keep inspiring and most of all keep being inspired!

  7. You always write so beautifully. Your talent for the written word impresses me always.

    I missed your radio show but would like to become a listener. I just need details.

  8. Bob…I want you to know that you are a true inspiration for me in so many ways. After 3 years of being unappreciated and downright disrespected…I quit my job. Yes, I know it was probably the worst time to do this, but for me it was the best feeling ever. It wasn’t good for me or anyone around me to hear my constant frustration with state workers and their lack of drive. I want to print this article out and have it be my mantra for life! I love it! It’s just the perfect time for me to read this. I love you. I love who you are and who you have become and who you want to be! I LOVE the Ryan Secrest line too….keep up the great work!! xoxo! MJ – (The Real Housewives of New Jersey!)

  9. Look out Oprah…here come BAUB!!

  10. Great blog Bob! I’ve downloaded the podcast of your radio show and plan to listen this evening when my little man is asleep. Now that summer has FINALLY arrived in Michigan, we are doing lots of outdoor things! I even mowed the LAWN today. I can honestly say it’s been more than 10 years since I mowed a lawn. My husband almost fell over when I offered. Definitely not cardio, but a nice walk and it made me sweat! 😉

    Thanks for more smiles today…and many more to come!

    Beth


Leave a Reply

Categories