Posted by: King Bee | August 9, 2009

Recalibrating

Good morning Baubles!

That is the name a listener called in and declared as the new name for people who follow or listen to my stories. I like it because instead of ‘fans, peeps or followers, it represents how I’d actually prefer to think of the kind people taking the time to pay attention to my journey- precious jewels!

I know its been awhile since I’ve checked in and truth is, I’ve felt the pressure. The last few weeks have been a whirlwind of activity!

For starters, if you haven’t heard, I was in fact chosen to be one of the back up dancers in Richard Simmons new DVD Sweatin’ to the Oldies 5. I’m over the moon. If you recall, it was on my goal list just to audition. Well I pushed right through that goal and took it to the next level. Another great lesson: never stop pushing.

This has lead me to a new goal. Now this isn’t an overnight thing so don’t expect to suit up for my class tomorrow, but I am looking into becoming a certified aerobics instructor. I think it would be awesome to teach a class or two a week that motivates and inspires people, keeping me motivated and inspired at the same time. I love that life keeps presenting new views when I take the time to look beyond my current environment and survey the entire landscape.

A big item that has been on my to do list was to officiate my little sister’s wedding. I’m honored to say I can cross that one off my list. She was a beautiful bride (pics soon) and I made it through my ceremony without anyone dozing off or stumbling over my words. It truly is one of the great privileges of my life.

Also listed on my goal sheet was to relaunch The Baub Show. Well I did. And you know what? I originally did it shyly and with borderline embarrassment. But after a beautiful heart to heart with my friend Shannon I realized if I don’t have pride and confidence in my show, why should anyone else care? So I inhaled deeply and started talking about my show with pride and you know what? It’s totally taking off. Each week I’m gathering more and more listeners and the feedback has been overwhelmingly kind. This last week Melissa Peterman and Joanna Garcia from the show Reba called in as my guests and we reached almost one thousand listeners during our live broadcast! We are only in our tenth week. This week my friends Lance Bass and Wendy Thorlakson are on the show and I’m looking forward to beating my personal best!

Then there’s the support. My friend Phil has been so supportive in helping me find a new platform to host the show as well as recommending the right equipment to make it sound better. My Aunt Heidi made no hesitation when I cashed in my birthday request for said equipment. To them both I’m incredibly grateful because in spite of some technical glitches this week was the best yet! And if all that weren’t enough, people have been contacting ME about being guests on my show. Do you know how good that feels?

Counting blessings.

With all of this, there’s something I need to stay focused on; me and my health. I’m writing this post on my phone from the Starbucks near Jenny Craig. Restarting my Sunday routine I had come to enjoy, but had put on hold after moving my weigh-ins to Thursdays to accommodate my busy travel schedule of the last month.

I’ve had Jenny on pause for the last two weeks as I traveled and ran around. I didn’t lose any weight, but the great news: I didn’t gain any weight. I’ve spent the last two weeks dancing and celebrating and I didn’t over indulge. I’m at 317 and counting. It means those 30 pounds are gone and not coming back. The gloves are back on, I’m feeling re-calibrated and ready to tackle the next 30.

My friend Sara and I are heading to the farmer’s market to reap the bounty of living in beautiful California and I’m wishing everyone reading this a magnificent Sunday and a re-calibrated and wonderful week ahead!

Xoxo
Bob

Responses

  1. One word: Poutine!

    (You enjoyed it and it didn’t break your wonderful spirit). xoxo

  2. Riley here, really enjoyed the show with Melissa! I hope you’re able to have her return, and great show! I’ll definitely be tuning in during future shows! Have a good week.

  3. I’m so happy to hear about your accomplishments and how you’re tackling your life list. It’s inspiring (you always are). I am looking forward to spending quality time with you.

    xoxo

  4. Wow – talk about achieving SUCCESS! Good for you Bob, it’s about time. You deserve all the good things life can give you as you have given so much good to all of us Baubles. I can’t wait to get that Sweatin’ To The Oldies 5 – it will be so much fun to “sweat” along with youl Hugs.


Leave a Reply

Categories