Posted by: King Bee | August 20, 2009

Help me!

So here’s the thing: I know I’ve been a little negligent here on Planet Baub and I am feeling a little guilty about it. But, I know my little blog will always be here as our relationship ebbs and flows like the tide. I haven’t had a lot of free time lately, and the time that I have had, I have been dedicating to another blog, The Baub Show.

What’s the difference you ask? Well, The Baub Show is my weekly internet radio show. It is my dream I’ve always had finally turned into a reality. Each week it is growing bigger and bigger as my audience expands and returns week after week. This week I had Anna Faris on and some former Big Brother houseguests. During the live broadcast, I had 1600 people listening! I couldn’t believe it! The week before I had around 1200 for Lance! To give some perspective, I had about 30 people listening during my first broadcast.

Now here is a little interesting statistic about that 1600 number. I think it is safe to say about 1% of those listening are my friends and family! Which means I am hitting a really great chord with strangers and future Baubles, but I need to figure out how to reach my own peeps! The biggest hurdle I am having is letting people know that if you miss the show live, it is still available to listen as a podcast on iTunes or even directly from the player on the website (just use the pull down menu that says “Previous Shows”). I figure if I can add a few of my friends and family to my listening list, I should be able to break 2,000 listeners in no time!

What suggestions do you have for me to get the word out? What can I do to get you listening? I have just made this little digital postcard. Feel free to share it with your friends and leave me a suggestion in the comments below.

On this week’s show I have Travis Wall from So You Think You Can Dance. Excited doesn’t even begin to describe how I’m feeling, but humbled is definitely a start.

Responses

  1. I listen, sometimes to the podcast, since I’ve been busy too. And sometimes I don’t know who your guests are (I suppose I need to watch more tv?) but I support your endeavor! I think you’re doing a fantastic job. I’m proud of you.

  2. I’m downloading podcasts starting NOW! This entr
    y from you was. sufficient to cause me to change my sloppy-ass negligent ways.

  3. Hmmm, I know an issue with me is it will be hard to make future shows with school in session and me on the east coast.

    Maybe reserve a few minutes to incorporate a mini game for listeners to participate, so it can bring back people who may want a shot at winning. Not sure how well that’d work out, and my creativity prevents me from thinking beyond that.

    I can’t think of much and I’m bad with being helpful, but I’ll do what I can as far as spreading the word goes and getting you some more Baubles.

    Maybe you can pay some of your friends to ‘accidently’ slip out “The Baub Show”? 😉 just kiddin.

    I hope someone with brilliant ideas will comment!!!

    And keep up the awesome work! You’ve made a huge accomplishment, good job!! =D

  4. I’m totally loving your show Bob. I/m so glad you have put on Podcast as you come on too late for me over here on the East Coast. The positive message from you and your guests is fantastic. It carried me through the last two weeks at work. I heard the show with Lance on Wed. and actually laughed out loud and was asked if I was having a private party over there. I’m hooked so keep up the good work and I’ll keep on listening.


Leave a Reply

Categories